Fifty Shades of Comic-Con – Taking a break

Sorry everyone, but there won’t be a new chapter review this weekend – I’ll be too busy attending Nerd Nirvana, otherwise known as San Diego Comic Con. Regular readers of this site have probably picked up on my affinity for things like nerdy girls and Batman, so this news shouldn’t really be THAT surprising. What IS somewhat surprising is that even at Comic Con, I will be unable to escape the overwhelming specter of Fifty Shades, as it turns out none other than E.L. James herself will be in attendance for a special book signing. Well then.

Now I can’t promise that I will meet the woman – anyone who has been to Comic Con before knows what lines can be like, and I’ll be damned if I’m gonna wait in a line for anything over 15-20 minutes just to meet James. BUT, if the line is short enough, and the opportunity seems realistic enough to achieve without sacrificing anything else I might have planned, I might just have to do it. I mean, I feel like I know her so well now, you know?

Anyway, I will dive back into this blog when I return home next week, and at that time will try to pick up the pace on these a little bit. With grad school right around the corner in September, I’d like to have this first book wrapped up sooner than later. As for books two and three? Don’t worry – as of right now, I’m leaning towards reviewing those, as well – although for reasons of time and mental health, I might not do so in the same chapter-by-chapter format. I’m still brainstorming a couple different ideas on that, so stay tuned. Oh, and it pretty much goes without saying that I will review the Fifty Shades movie, whenever it comes around. Yay. And in-between, I will try to write about whatever other Fifty Shades related nonsense might pop up in the media or culture in general. A lot of you seem to be digging this site, so don’t worry, I have no plans for it to go away anytime soon.

But, now, I wanted to make it up to those of you for the lack of updates this weekend, so I figured I’d at least give you a few videos to watch. These have all been floating around for awhile, so many of you may have already seen them. But if not, enjoy:

First up, an already classic “viral” video – Gilbert Gottfried reading from Fifty Shades:

Another popular one – three old ladies review Fifty Shades:

Though the Gottfried and 3 Golden Sisters videos got most of the attention, I actually preferred this underappreciated MTV video, with the cast of Snow White & the Huntsman reading passages of the book. Not surprisingly, a lot of Fifty Shades fans have already voiced their support for Kristen Stewart playing Ana in the film. Not sure if that would ever actually happen, but if it doesn’t, at least they have this video (though it’s actually Charlize Theron who steals the show).

About Trevor Snyder

Give me zombies or give me death. Wait...that doesn't make sense.
This entry was posted in Fifty Shades of Grey. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fifty Shades of Comic-Con – Taking a break

  1. Laters, Baby says:

    You shouldn’t have started this blog if you weren’t planning on keeping it up regularly. I just typed that while rolling my eyes and biting my lip.

    I am joking. I love the blog, won’t read the book. But really you need to quit real life and just focus on this. 😉

  2. Broken Zebra says:

    Have fun, T-Rex! And I can’t view the MTV one, sadface. UK can’t watch it for copyright issues, ugh.

    Miss you~

  3. Redhead says:

    Get some awesome ComicCon photos!

  4. MJ says:

    I think I hurt myself laughing at that Gilbert Gottfried video. Awesome.

  5. Heidi says:

    Hurrrrrrrrryyyyy! I’m dying to know what happened at Comic-Con!

Leave a Reply

